Rotary Club of Arden Hills/Shoreview

Bulletin Subscribe

Subscribe to our eBulletin and stay up to date on the latest news and events.

 
Speakers
Rob Reetz, Chippewa Middle School Principal
Jun 27, 2017
Innovative approach that is changing the way middle school students learn and how teachers teach
Club Assembly Meeting
Jul 11, 2017
Project updates and Fund Raiser Planning
Femina Ajayi
Jul 25, 2017
Minnesota Department of Corrections
Deputy Cadet Commander, Mary Albright
Aug 01, 2017
Anoka County Squadron of the Civil Air Patrol and the Cadet Color Guard
Fire Chief Tim Boehlke
Aug 22, 2017
Lake Johanna Fire Department
Shelly Myrland - Classifcation Talk
Aug 29, 2017
And Club Debrief on Fund Raiser Event
John Suzukida
Sep 05, 2017
His Parent's WWII Japanese-American Concentration Camp Experiences
Paul Vliem, Development Manager, Tasks Unlimited
Sep 12, 2017
Mental Health Solutions
Henreitta & Jim Nistler
Sep 19, 2017
Experinces in Kenya
Ben Leistikow, UBS Financial Services
Sep 26, 2017
Options for Long Term Care Insurance
Trisha Qualy, Advisor Net Financial
Oct 03, 2017
Robo Investing
Andy Rausch from Merrick, Inc
Dec 19, 2017
Empowering adults with disabilities
 
 
Birthdays & Anniversaries
Member Birthdays:
  • Paul McCreight
    June 27
Anniversaries:
  • Dick Rademacher
    Lorna Rademacher
    June 10
  • Dennis Erno
    Kathy Erno
    June 15
  • Paul McCreight
    Kate McMcreight
    June 17
  • Peggy Strom
    Don Strom
    June 29
Join Date:
  • Sandy Martin
    June 1, 2008
    9 years
  • Andy Sall
    June 23, 2006
    11 years
  • Ginny Sall
    June 23, 2006
    11 years
 
Club Officers and Directors
President
President Elect
Treasurer
Secretary
Club Service Director
Community Service Director
International Service Director
Youth Services Director
Past President
Membership
Rotary Foundation Officer
Youth Exchange Officer (YEO)
Club Historian
Bulletin Editor
CICO/Website
Public Relations
 
Club Information

Welcome to our Club!

Arden Hills/Shoreview

Service Above Self

We meet Tuesdays at 7:15 AM
Best Western - Shoreview
1000 Gramsie Rd.
Shoreview, MN  55126
United States
DistrictSiteIcon
District Site
LatestPublishedBulletin
Bulletins
VenueMap
Venue Map
 
Site Pages
 
Home Page Stories
 
Our club has been busy. We visited the State Capitol and had a tremendous tour. Our guide was full of information and spoke loud enough for all of us to hear. We also had a party for our inbound exchange student that was hosted by our president, Peggy Strom. It was a terrific event that was attended by many of our members. On a personal note, I want to the thank so many members who have helped out Nancy and me with our current struggles.
 
At the end of this month seven new members will have taken part in a Rotary orientation. These orientations are also good for the other members who attend because it can reinforce what attracted us to Rotary. For instance, through Rotary I can volunteer my skills, improve my community and build my network. There are more than 1.2 million Rotarians worldwide, 34,200 clubs and 532 Rotary districts. We are members of a great worldwide organization. Wear your pin with pride.
This month we are really starting to focus on our fundraising event, "The Taste of the Hops". Local brewers are coming on board and we have the Green Mill agreeing to participate. Things are starting to come together, but we need the help of everyone in our club to make this event a success.
 
March is President Elect month in the Rotary year. Our next president, Kent Peterson, will be going to the President Elect training session this month. From personal experience I can tell you it is well worth the trip and expense. I hope Kent has a great time and learns a lot about Rotary. Remember to wear your Rotary pin and be ready with an elevator speech about Rotary when people ask you about the pin.
 
Every Rotarian should make an effort to attend the District Conference, “Rotarians Changing the World.”
There will be inspirational keynote speakers, musical entertainment and dynamic and interactive breakout sessions.
 
But it is also an opportunity to reconnect with your family outside of your club, your extended district family.
Think of it as Rotary’s version of Thanksgiving!
 
You can attend the entire conference for a reduced rate, one day, morning sessions, specific breakouts, meals or no meals. The District has made it as easy as possible to work within almost any schedule.
 
This is one of the few times throughout the year you can share stories, learn from your peers and gather a great deal of knowledge all in one visit with 60+ Clubs.
 
Is the conference a bit of a trek? Consider carpooling with your fellow Club members!
 
  • WHEN: Rotarians Changing the World District Conference begins Thursday evening, April 27th through Saturday morning, April 29th.
  • WHERE: The conference is at the Holiday Inn East in St. Paul.  Click Here for registration and more information
Email Protocol

A friend who is a computer expert received the following directly from a system administrator for a corporate system. It is an excellent message that ABSOLUTELY applies to ALL of us who send emails. Please read the short letter below, even if you're sure you already follow proper procedures. Do you really know how to forward emails? 50% do ... 50% don't. Do you wonder why you get viruses or junk mail? Do you hate it? Every time you forward an email there is information left over from the people who got the message before you, namely their email addresses and names. As the messages get forwarded along, the list of addresses builds, and builds, and builds, and all it takes is for some poor person to get a virus, and his or her computer can send that virus to every email address that has come across his computer. Or, someone can take all of those addresses and sell them or send junk mail to them in the hopes that you will go to the site and he will make five cents for each hit. That's right, all of that inconvenience over a nickel!

How do you stop it? Well, there are several easy steps: Try the following if you haven't done it before:
 
(1) When you forward an email, DELETE all of the other addresses that appear in the body of the message (at the top). That's right, DELETE them. Highlight them and delete them, backspace them, cut them, whatever it is you know how to do. It only takes a second. It only takes a second. You MUST click the 'Forward' button first and then you will have full editing capabilities against the body and headers of the message. If you don't click on 'Forward' first, you won't be able to edit the message at all. OR you can copy the meat of the email and then paste it into a clean one to send on.

(2) Whenever you send an email to more than one person, do NOT use the To: or Cc: fields for adding email addresses. Always use the BCC: (blind carbon copy) field for listing ALL the email addresses. This is the way the people you send to will only see their own email address. If you don't see your BCC: option click on where it says To: and your address list will appear. Highlight the address and choose BCC: and that's it, it's that easy. When you send to BCC: your message will automatically say 'Undisclosed Recipients in the 'TO:' field of the people who receive it.
 
(3) Remove any 'FW:' in the subject line. You can re-name the subject if you wish or even fix spelling.
 
(4) ALWAYS hit your Forward button from the actual email you are reading. Ever get those emails that you have to open 10 pages to read the one page with the information on it? By forwarding from the actual page you wish someone to view; you stop them from having to open many emails just to see what you sent.
 
(5) Have you ever gotten an email that is a petition? It states a position and asks you to add your name and address and to forward it to 10 or 15 people or your entire address book. The email can be forwarded on and on and can collect thousands of names and email addresses. A FACT: The completed petition is actually worth a couple of bucks to a professional spammer because of the wealth of valid names and email addresses contained therein. DO NOT put your email address on any petition. If you want to support the petition, send it as your own personal letter to the intended recipient. Your position may carry more weight as a personal letter than a laundry list of names and email addresses on a petition. (And don't believe the ones that say that the e mail is being traced; it just ain't so!

ACTUAL FACT: Most e-mail petitions are worthless because they do not fully identify the signer by street address, etc. nor does it prove that the signer really signed it. Don't forward them. Some of the other emails to delete and not forward are: a) The one that says something like, Send this email to 10 people and you'll see something great run across your screen.' Or sometimes they'll just tease you by saying something really cute will happen. IT AIN'T GONNA HAPPEN!!!!! (We are still seeing some of the same emails that we waited on 10 years ago!) b) I don't let the bad luck ones scare me either, they should get trashed. c) Before you forward an 'Amber Alert', or a 'Virus Alert', or some of the other emails floating around nowadays, check them out before you forward them. Most of them are junk mail that's been circling the net for YEARS! Just about everything you receive in an email that is in question can be checked out at Snopes. Just go to http://www.snopes.com/. It's really easy to find out if it's real or not. If it's not, please don't pass it on. So please, in the future, let's stop the junk mail and the viruses. Finally, here's an idea! Let's send this to everyone we know (but strip my address off first, please). This is something that SHOULD be forwarded, so do it.
Each year our Rotary Club seeks nominations for Community leaders who have made contributions to the health of the Arden Hills and Shoreview  area.  The recognition is called a Paul Harris Fellowship.  Paul Harris is the founder of Rotary International.  Our club makes a $1000.00 contribution ion their behalf to The Rotary Foundation.  The Rotary Foundation distributes funds for a wide variety of International projects. 
 
If you would like to nominate someone please contact our Rotary Club.  The following are past recipients of a Paul Harris Fellowship.
 
 
 
RSS
Five years since its debut, Rotary Club Central is getting a big upgrade
When we introduced Rotary Club Central in 2012, it revolutionized goal tracking and planning for clubs and districts — no more filling out paper club-planning forms or passing along boxes of historical club information every time a new leader took office. Rotary Club Central offered clubs and districts a quantifiable way to begin measuring local and global impact, specifically membership initiatives, service activities, and Rotary Foundation giving. But as with any technological advancement, in a few short years, Rotary Club Central began to show its age, and Rotarians took notice. They...
Rotary International Board adopts new zone structure
At its January 2017 meeting, the Rotary International Board of Directors adopted a new zone structure for Rotary clubs. Rotary bylaws require the Board to complete a comprehensive review of the 34 Rotary zones no less often than every eight years to ensure that each zone has an approximately equal number of Rotarians. The Board’s previous review of the zones occurred in 2008. The Board earlier approved the creation of three regional workgroups to develop rezoning proposals for Asia, Europe/Africa, and the Americas. These workgroups comprised one representative (either a current director,...
Centennial celebration honors 20 noteworthy global grant projects
Through The Rotary Foundation, Rotary members have supported thousands of projects that promote peace, fight disease, provide clean water, save mothers and children, support education, and grow local economies. We’ve also led the fight to eradicate polio worldwide. As part of our celebration of the Foundation’s centennial, we’re honoring 20 global grant projects with special recognition. Learn more about the projects using our interactive map.
Convention: Southern hospitality
The Atlanta Host Organization Committee is offering some good old-fashioned Southern hospitality at the Rotary International Convention from 10 to 14 June. It has planned a wide range of activities featuring everything from good food and music to inspiring tours of local landmarks. If it’s your first convention, these events are chances to meet fellow Rotarians from around the world, and if you’re an experienced convention goer, you can catch up with old friends. Hall of Fame baseball player Hank Aaron will host Rotarians for a “Strike Out Polio” night at the new SunTrust Park, where you’ll...
Member spotlight: The power of the press
When Teguest Yilma helped found the Rotary Club of Addis Ababa Entoto in 2002, she thought polio had already been eradicated from most of the world. But while Ethiopia had been free of the disease, Yilma was shocked to learn that new cases had started cropping up in surrounding countries such as Somalia. “I was thinking, it’s not possible, we can’t be free if the countries around us are not free,” she says. Yilma, the managing editor of Capital, Ethiopia’s largest English weekly newspaper, has brought a journalist’s skills to the fight against polio. She became vice chair of the Ethiopia...