banner
Advertisement for Russell Hampton
Advertisement for ClubRunner
Advertisement for ClubRunner Mobile
Speakers
Mar 12, 2024
Club Assembly
Mar 19, 2024 12:00 PM
Aurora Women's Soccer Team
Mar 26, 2024
Guatemala Literacy Project
Apr 09, 2024
Leadership Skills
Apr 16, 2024 12:00 PM
Homelessness in the St. Paul School District
Apr 30, 2024
Ranked Choice Voting
View entire list
Meeting Responsibilities
Upcoming Events
Club Board meeting
Mar. 18, 2024
7:30 a.m. - 8:30 a.m.
 
Club Board meeting
Apr. 15, 2024
7:30 a.m. - 8:30 a.m.
 
View entire list
Executives & Directors
President
 
President Elect
 
President-Elect Nominee
 
Past President
 
Treasurer
 
Secretary
 
Club Service Director
 
Youth Services Director
 
CICO/Website
 
Community Service Director
 
Bulletin Editor
 
International Service Director
 
Rotary Foundation Officer
 
Membership
 
Public Relations
 
Stories
President's Corner
 
 
 
 
 
 
January was a month of reflection on peace within our Club, highlighted by two remarkable presentations from Dr. Burma and Mike Spellman. Their insights introduced me to the nuances of positive and negative peace, echoing the enlightening discourse by Patricia Shafer in November.
While Rotary's focus leans towards fostering positive peace, it's crucial to acknowledge the role of negative peace, where diplomats and military strategists navigate the complexities of conflict. Mahatma Gandhi's stance on violence versus cowardice resonates deeply, underscoring the need for a nuanced approach when diplomacy fails.
True to Rotary's ethos, our efforts center on cultivating positive peace through tangible actions. Whether it's establishing pollinator gardens, fostering community inclusivity, or empowering youth, each endeavor contributes to a more harmonious society. Dave Newman’s systemic support in Nicaragua exemplifies the transformative impact of such initiatives.
Looking ahead, our agenda remains rich with opportunities for service and collaboration. In February and March, we continue our dedication to mental health awareness and community engagement. Additionally, preparations are underway for significant events in April, including our involvement in the Taste of Shoreview fundraiser. Look for emails from Avenue of Service directors and committee chairs.
I extend my gratitude to every Rotarian for their unwavering commitment. Together, we embody Rotary's spirit of service, fostering goodwill and friendship in our communities.
 
Cheers,
Anoop Mathur
President
Read more...
Monthly Celebrations of Club Members
 
 
 

Member Birthdays

Kent Peterson - February 7
Glenn Bowers - February 21
 
Spouse Birthdays
 
Don (Colleen) Lavin - February 7
Betty (Joe) Ziskovsky - February 16
Fran (Ken) Hola - February 19
 
Anniversaries
 
< No Anniversaries Found >
 
Club Anniversaries
 
Ranjit Kulanearoth - February (3 years)
 
Read more...
Club Service
We had two club activities in November-a business tour to VivaQuant and bowling at Flaherty's.
Mike Spellman is shown in the first photo doing a Rotary recruitment pitch to the CEO of VivaQuant. Our Ukrainian mom Svitlana works there. They make a patch-style remote cardiac monitors.
The last photo shows Mike again with the Erno's discussing bowling strategy. This 'Strike Out Polio' event raised over $700 for the Foundation.
 
   
 

    
 
 
 
  
 
 
 
Read more...
Membership Committee
The Membership Committee has met twice since July.  We have been discussing the subject of membership dues. If anyone has any comments about dues structure, please see a member of the team. 
We are working on the idea of a “Business Minute” with the Club Activity group.  If anyone has an idea for a company that might come in and give us a brief (5-10) minute overview of a local company, please let Kay know.
We also discussed that it might be attractive to have a community event involving children.  This might get younger parents out to experience Rotary and become interested in membership.  We will work with Matt and his group on this idea.
Look for an invitation from one of our committee members to go out to coffee, lunch, or drinks!!  (There will be a quiz!)  We want to get to know each other (or get reacquainted) after COVID.  Knowing the good, the bad, and the ugly of our group can help us plan better and bring ideas that interest the club into being.  So, over the next 2 months, we will be exploring with you how to make the club bigger, better, brighter!
We are also entertaining the idea of a Trivia Contest where we invite other Rotary clubs in the immediate area to get a team together and compete sometime in November.  We are also considering inviting local businesses to field teams.  This would be open to anyone, not just Rotarians.  Stay tuned for more information!
Community Service
Thanks to all the club members and spouses that attended the Pollinator Garden dedication event on September 16’th.
                
In addition to the 100+ visitors during the event we had the Shoreview  Garden Club, City of Shoreview Park and Recreation, the Rice Creek Watershed District , a Ramsey County Master Gardner, Landscape Alternatives, the Environmental Quality Commission and our club exhibiting. The city also provided several activities for kids to earn about pollinators and pollination.
 
Read more...