banner
Russell Hampton
National Awards Services Inc.
ClubRunner
Speakers
Feb 26, 2019
Club Assembly
Mar 05, 2019
The STRIPES Program and the Equity Promise
Mar 12, 2019
A Navy Nurse in Viet Nam
Mar 19, 2019
A tour of the remodeled Shoreview Community Center
Mar 26, 2019
Northern Soda Company
Apr 02, 2019
Club Assembly
Apr 09, 2019
The Rotary Four-Way Test and Personal Ethics
Apr 16, 2019
Engineers Without Borders
View entire list
Executives & Directors
President
 
President Elect
 
Treasurer
 
Secretary
 
Community Service Director
 
Youth Services Director
 
Youth Exchange Officer (YEO)
 
CICO/Website
 
Club Service Director
 
Bulletin Editor
 
Club Historian
 
International Service Director
 
Rotary Foundation Officer
 
Past President
 
Program Chair
 
Membership
 
Public Relations
 
Executive Secretary
 
Club Information
Welcome to our Club!
Arden Hills/Shoreview
Service Above Self
We meet Tuesdays at 7:15 AM
SHORE 96 - Shoreview
1056 Highway 96
((NE corner of Lexington and Hwy 96)
Shoreview, MN  55126
United States
DistrictSiteIcon District Site
VenueMap Venue Map
Stories
President's Corner
February is World Understanding month for Rotary.  February 23 is Rotary’s Anniversary and also World Understanding and Peace Day.  As Rotarians we can be thankful for all of our combined efforts and commitment to world understanding, friendship and peace.  An example our commitment is our project to help fund the development of sewing school in Amaravathi, Andhra Pradesh, India.  Special thanks to Bob Freed, Bill Klumpp and Kent Peterson for their efforts in helping move this project forward.
Your Rotary Club could not function without a cadre of volunteer officer and directors.  I would like to thank the following members for stepping up to help lead our club in the upcoming Rotary year beginning July 1, 2019.  Joining president elect Bill Klumpp’s team on the board in 2019- 2020 will be:
 
Glenn Bowers – President- Elect
Jerry Peterson – Treasurer
Paul Bartyzal—Secretary
Stephanie Cosgrove – Community Service Director
Kay Baker – Club Service Director
Bob Freed – International Service Director
Miriam Zachary – Youth Service Director
 
Our Human Trafficking Champion Stephanie Cosgrove has been busy meeting with school officials, our sister club New Brighton / Mounds View as well as other school districts in the metro area to learn more about the human trafficking training programs.  If you would like to join in this effort, please let Stephanie know.
Also kudos to Ken Hola for taking over as Taste of the Hops Team Champion.  Planning for this event is underway.  Much more to come as we look to build on the prior success of our main fund raiser.
Finally a programming note, we will have off site meetings in March and April.  More about that later, but just remember to check the schedule before heading out to Shore 96 or you may be the only one there.
 
Weekly Programs
February 5 will begin a series of interesting programs arranged by Frank Mabley with a presentation by Rotary Peace Scholar Amanda Ottman on the American Refugee Committee.  Ms. Ottman will follow up on the January 22 program by Kim Crockett on Immigration in Minnesota.  On February 12 Prof. William Doherty  from the University of Minnesota will show us how we can become Better Angles to reduce the polarization in our society that has heightened over the last decade.  Abraham Lincoln asked us to become better angles notwithstanding our differences so it is fitting this program occurs during the month of his birth.
 
President Bill Kiehnbaum will direct a Club Assembly on February 19; consequently, there will be no program that day.  Rotarians should think about what teams they would like to volunteer for this year in preparation for the club assembly.  Mike Spellman will present his Classification Talk on February 26 so we will all learn more about one of our newest members.
 
Thanks to Paul McCreight for arranging the January programs.  We all learned more about the economy and the stock market from Chad Latour and Tom Parnell.  Kim Crockett provided lots of information about refugee resettlement and immigration in Minnesota.  Bob Selden showed us why veterans and their spouses are dying to get into Ft. Snelling National Cemetery.
 
Do you have a friend or family member whose politics are so different from yours that you can no longer discuss politics with him or her?  Bring that friend or family member as a guest to our meeting February 12.  The program will help to build goodwill and better friendships in keeping with the Rotary four-way test.
Read more...
Club Service
Connecting with Rotarians from other clubs, cities and countries is a great way to learn about Rotary and get a shot of enthusiasm. There are a few options coming up. The Conference of Clubs, formerly District Conference will be held on April 11-12 at the Mayo Civic Center in Rochester. Here you can mingle with and learn from other Rotarians in our district. There will be several informative and inspirational speakers. Club awards will be presented. A fun event will be Rochester’s home hospitality where you will dine at a local Rotarians home, along with other Rotarians. More information and registration can be found at https://www.rotary5960.org/sitepage/2019-conference-of-clubs.
If you really want to be inspired and see the diversity of Rotary, plan on attending an International Conference. The next one will be held in Hamburg, Germany on June 1 – 5. Time is getting short but you can still register at a reduced rate.
 
More information can be found at http://www.riconvention.org/en/hamburg.
 
If this timeline is too short for you, consider coupling a Hawaiian vacation with the 2020 International Convention which will be held in Honolulu June 6-10, 2020. It is never too early to plan. Registration and housing requests will become available in June. More information can be found at http://www.riconvention.org/en/future/past-future-events
Weekly Greeters and Clean-Up duties

 
 
HAPPY VALENTINE DAY!
 
February 5 - Mark Stange
February 12 - Peggy Strom
February 19 - John Suzukida
February 26 - Miriam Zachary
 
March 5 - Joe Ziskovsky
March 12 - Michael Anuta
 
(*) Those members shown with this symbol are asked to assist in the clean-up after the meetings you attend during this month.
 
Reminder:  Please let me know if you are not available for the scheduled date, after contacting someone else to trade.
 
Monthly Celebrations of Club Members

Member Birthdays

Kent Peterson - February 7
Kay Baker - February 15
Glenn Bowers - February 21
Stephanie Bruggers - February 23
 
Spouse Birthdays
 
Don (Colleen) Lavin - February 7
Betty (Joe) Ziskovsky - February 16
Fran (ken) Hola - February 19
 
Anniversaries
 
< No Anniversaries found >
 
Club Anniversaries
 
< None Found >
International Service
UPDATE Re: District 5960 Grant To Fund Sewing School In Amaravathi, Andhra Pradesh, India Is Approved;
Our Goal For Fundraising FromDistrict 5960 Rotary Clubs Has Been Reached and
Our Final Application Is being Assembled For Submission To the Grant Subcommittee
 
As you all know, our club submitted a request for a District Grant from Rotary District 5960 to fund the development of a Sewing School in Amaravathi, Andhra Pradesh, India. We received tentative approval from the District some time ago, but the grant was put on hold after Rotary International (RI) required us to find an Indian partner that had an Indian Foreign Contribution Regulation Act (FCRA)Certification. As such, the District set aside funds for the grant as a contingency.
 
With the help of Craig Leiser (PDG)of the Stillwater Sunrise Club we were connected to the Vuyyuuru (we yu ru) Rotary Club in Andhra Pradesh that has a Rotary Community Service Trust that has the needed FCRA certification and they have agreed to receive our funds for the Amaravathi Sewing Project and distributed them funds as needed to support the project. We have also raised the needed $4819 the District Grant requires us to raise from other District 5960 Rotary Clubs and have requested further commitments for support from other Rotary sources and from non-Rotary sources. Clubs that have pledged to support the project include Roseville, New Brighton Moundsview, Fridley Columbia Heights, White Bear Lake, Forest Lake, Siren Webster, West St. Paul Mendota Heights, St. Paul #10 (creators of the Mano-a-Mano project) and Prior Lake 
The requested funding is for a new sewing school in Amaravathi that would be developed by an Indian NGO called PUSHPA, which is the outgrowth of a Minnesota Non-Profit Corporation, also named PUSHA, which was founded and organized by Arden Hills residents Gummadi Franklin and his wife Shirley. The Franklins spoke to our club in November, 2017, regarding the activities of PUSHPA’s charitable programs in India that are designed to help marginalized low caste or Muslim peoples help themselves out of impoverished circumstances. The kids that would benefit from such programs are kids like some of those pictured below.
 
 
Mr. Franklin recently traveled to Andhra Pradesh and is there now and has met with officials of the Vuyyuuru Rotary Club and is searching for a suitable facility for the sewing school and is hoping to interview potential teachers for the school. We hope to complete our application very shortly and submit it to the Grant Subcommittee for final approval and the subsequent release of the Grant’s matching funds for use by Pushpa in initiating it’s development of the new sewing school.  
 
village children
Read more...
January 8 - Club Meeting
Our presenter at this, our first meeting of 2019, was Chad Latour, from the investment firm of Lord Abbett.  His objective was to provide an overview of the performance of financial markets in 2018 as well as to share the firm's thinking on expectations for 2019.  This was well-timed, given the significant decline in market valuations in the last quarter of 2018.  The net result was that both the Dow and S&P indexes were down about 7% for the year.  Virtually every category of investment lost ground in 2018.  This was as compared to 2017 in which every asset category made money and despite the fact that corporate earnings were widely up in 2018.  Why?  Letour attributed most of the market decline to fear that the Fed would raise interest rates substantially in 2019.  After the strong market reaction late in 2018, the Fed did back off its plan to raise rates, which has helped the market recover somewhat in the early days of 2019.  Lord Abbett projects that the S&P will improve by about 8% in 2019.  Inflation is expected to continue at the relatively low rate of just over 2%.  There is some fear that global growth rates will slow during the year, driven greatly by expectations for a slowdown in China's economic growth.
Read more...
January 15 - Club Meeting
The Club welcomed visiting Rotarian Rick Olson from the Prior Lake Club. Rick discussed the Prior Lake Club sponsoring travel tours and their Lakefront Music Fest that will be held in July. He encouraged fellow Rotarians to consider the tours and attending the Music Festival. Club members were also reminded of the Service to Youth Awards that are scheduled on February 7th. 
 
The guest speaker was Tom Parnell from JP Morgan. Tom presentation focused on the current economy and the condition of the stock market and investments that people have made. He presented  graphs that showed the fluctuations in the stock market over the long term since 1900, as well as a graph that showed the fluctuation in the market since 2009.  In both cases the trends are that over time, the stock market continues to increase and outperform most other investments. He noted that the sustained increases in the market since 2009 are somewhat unprecedented. JP Morgan believes that the market will continue to increase for another 1-3 years at which time there will be a small recession. They do not expect that the next recession will be as pronounced or as significant as the one that occurred during 2008-2009.  The major catalysts that are driving the market now include health care, energy independence of the United States, next generation technology including robotics and artificial intelligence, and continued development of world markets including India. 
 
Tom responded to questions about the current unemployment rate and loss of manufacturing and other jobs in certain segments of the economy. He noted that markets will always have volatility, which is why having some type of balanced investment portfolio that also includes bonds is important. 
January 22 - Club Meeting
Today's speaker was Kim Crockett, Vice President, Senior Policy Fellow and General Counsel of the Center of the American Experiment, a conservative "think tank" based in Golden Valley.  Her presentation was entitled "Pulling in Minnesota's Welcome Mat" and argues that our state is being harmed by generous welfare benefits that have made it a much favored destination for immigrants and refugees.  At the heart of this discussion lays difficult questions like, "What is our moral obligation to refugees?", "What constitutes genuine humanitarian assistance for refugees?", "How many refugees can Minnesota successfully absorb?", "How will Islam affect our culture, law and freedom?".  The process of resettling refugees is complicated.  The federal government decides where to place refugees, often in concert with local Voluntary Agencies (VOLAGs), like Lutheran Social Services.  The federal government provides some up-front funding to state programs, but usually this ends within three months of a refugee's stay in the country.  After that a refugee's major needs are covered by state benefits.  Congress has not addressed the ever-increasing pressures related to global immigration trends, as evidenced by the current battle being waged in Washington and the resulting partial government shutdown, hence this presentation was timely.
Read more...
January 29 - Club Meeting
We had a good group gathered on this freezing cold January morning, including frequent visiting Rotarian Ron Hughes from the Excelsior club.  Our speaker was Bob Selden, who serves as President of the Volunteer Committee for the Fort Snelling National Cemetery.  Fort Snelling's cemetery is one of 136 national cemeteries in the country and is the fourth busiest; it was dedicated in 1939 and now spans 450 acres.  There are 5,300 interments per year; currently 62% of those interments are cremation vs. 38% burials.  Only 10 years ago, this ratio was reversed.  There are a total of 232,700 interments at the cemetery.  291 of those are unknown graves from the civil war and prior.  The volunteer committee that Bob leads was created to obtain funds to maintain the cemetery.  They are currently planning to petition the National Cemetery Agency to create a new, permanent monument to the "Unknown", which is estimated will cost about $300k.  Most of the committee members also serve on the volunteer rifle squad, which provides military honors each day to veterans being interred that day.  Bob serves on the "Friday" squad, as does our own Joe Ziskovsky.  Anyone who has visited Fort Snelling knows this is a beautifully maintained, lovely place.  It has been recognized as such as it is now listed on the National Registry of Historic Places.
Read more...