banner
Russell Hampton
ClubRunner
ClubRunner Mobile
Speakers
May 28, 2019
Boundary Waters Canoe Area
Jun 04, 2019
A Tour of the Mpls. Federal Reserve Bank @ 9 am
Jun 11, 2019
Jun 18, 2019
Chief Technology Officer and new member presentation
Jun 26, 2019
Rotary Club Visioning Wednesday 5-9 pm at Shoreview Community Center
Jul 02, 2019
Change of Administration/Club Assembly
Jul 09, 2019
View entire list
Upcoming Events
Ronald McDonald House
Ronald McDonald House in Minneapolis
Jun 06, 2019
3:30 PM – 8:30 PM
 
Executives & Directors
President
 
President Elect
 
Treasurer
 
Secretary
 
Community Service Director
 
Youth Services Director
 
Youth Exchange Officer (YEO)
 
CICO/Website
 
Club Service Director
 
Bulletin Editor
 
Club Historian
 
International Service Director
 
Rotary Foundation Officer
 
Past President
 
Program Chair
 
Membership
 
Public Relations
 
Executive Secretary
 
Club Information
Welcome to our Club!
Arden Hills/Shoreview
Service Above Self
We meet Tuesdays at 7:15 AM
SHORE 96 - Shoreview
1056 Highway 96
((NE corner of Lexington and Hwy 96)
Shoreview, MN  55126
United States
DistrictSiteIcon District Site
VenueMap Venue Map
Stories
President's Corner
Thanks to all of you, our club is exceeding our goal for Annual Fund giving to the Rotary Foundation and is on track to meet or exceed our goal for Polio Plus.
Kudos to Kent Peterson for arranging programs in April as well as our service project for Feed My Starving Children – Mobile food packing.  Our club was well represented at the packing site, all for a great cause.
We have some great programs on tap for May, including former DNR Commissioner Tom Landwehr.  Be sure to tell your friends and colleagues about Arden Hills Shoreview Rotary.
 
Finally in late June we have scheduled a Club Visioning program which will help our club plan for the future through renewed focus on objectives.  You will all be invited.  More on that later from Bill Klumpp.
 
Weekly Programs
Kay Baker and Mike Spellman have arranged some interesting and thought provoking programs for May. On May 7 Iris Tzafir will present reflections of a daughter of Holocaust survivors.  The presentation is timely because May 8 is VE Day, the day the Nazis surrendered to Allied Forces in 1945.  Shannon Brumbaugh will discuss Midwest Special Services (MSS) on May 14.  MSS is located near our meeting site.  The work of the Freshwater Society will be the topic of its executive director, Steve Woods, on May 21.  The month will close out with another visit from Shoreview resident and former MN DNR Commissioner and Shoreview City Council member Tom Landwehr on May 28 who will speak to us about the Boundary Waters Canoe Area (BWCA).  Tom is now  the executive director for The Campaign to Save the BWCA, an advocacy group opposed to plans to mine copper and nickel near the BWCA.
 
Thanks to Kent Peterson for arranging the programs and a community service project for April.  Rotarian Stephanie Cosgrove set a high bar for classification talks in her April 2 program complete with a Power Point presentation.  The Rotary Ethics Team made an April 9 presentation on the Rotary Four-Way Test and personal ethics.  On April 16 University of Minnesota engineering grad student Vini Taguchi's program featured the work of Engineers Without Borders.  The club traveled to Shoreview's new Loden SV Apartments for a guided tour and presentation by Josh Brandsted from Greco Development and Management on one of the city's newest apartment developments on the site of a demolished Deluxe building.  Rotarians joined other volunteers on April 30 at Incarnation Lutheran Church to pack food for Feed My Starving Children.
Read more...
Weekly Greeters and Clean-Up duties

Promote International Convention Month!

 
May 7 - Bob Freed
May 14 - Kay Baker
May 21- Glenn Bowers
May 28 - Stephanie Bruggers
 
June 4 < No greeter> Off-site tour
June 11 - Stephanie Cosgrove
 
 
(*) Those members shown with this symbol are asked to assist in the clean-up after the meetings you attend during this month.
 
Reminder:  Please let me know if you are not available for the scheduled date, after contacting someone else to trade.
 
Monthly Celebrations of Club Members

Member Birthdays

John Suzukida - May 9
Miriam Zachary - May 26
 
Spouse Birthdays
 
Nancy (Kevin) Keenan - May 4
Jim (Brenda) Holden - May 11
Miriam (Bob Freed) Zachary - May 26
 
Anniversaries
 
< No Anniversaries >
 
Club Anniversaries
 
Kevin Keenan - 19 years
Al Ramos - 1 year
 
 
International Service
 
 
May 2019 Update For The Amaravathi Sewing School Project
 
We have made great progress and most of it can be credited to our fortunate selection of PUSHPA as out partner in establishing a sewing school in Amaravathi, India. 
In a period of two weeks following the receipt of the District 5960 Grant we sought to fund a sewing school in Amaravathi, Andhra Pradesh, India the Indian NGO which partners with the Minnesota based non-profit, PUSHPA, identified a suitable site for the school and a teacher for the school, six treadle sewing machines and other furniture and equipment were purchased and a grand opening for the new school was held.
As many of you were aware, Gummadi Franklin, The Chair and driving force behind PUSHPA, was in country when the grant was received and was due to be coming home in a couple of weeks. He and his team were of course scouting for a suitable location for the school and an experienced teacher for the school in anticipation of our receipt of the grant prior to his departure and return trip to the U.S. in mid-March, but we had to work diligently with our mentors and other members of the District Grant Subcommittee to get an expedited review.
As has been reported, in order to obtain the grant we were required to find an Indian partner that had an Indian Foreign Contribution Regulation Act (FCRA)Certification and raise $4819 from other District Clubs, which we have done. As such, we received $7819 in matching funds from the District and the work of establishing the new sewing school has not only started, but in the two weeks since we were notified that we were to receive the Grant, the PUSHPA Organization has, with Franklin Gummadi’s experienced guidance, opened the school with a flourishing Grand Opening that is a tradition in this part of India that people in the community to see who is behind the school.
The leaders of PUSHPA, both here in Arden Hills and in Andhra Pradesh, India are especially grateful for the support for the new sewing school from the Arden Hills Shoreview Rotary Club and Rotary District 5960 and have expressed their gratitude privately and acknowledge the Club’s sponsorship of the new school by erecting the sign shown in the picture.
 
A lot of hard work went into obtaining this grant and there are many people to thank for their hard work and significant contributions. PUSHPA has now taken the baton and it is especially gratifying to see it take the first turn in the establishment of the new school at such high velocity, completing all the initial steps required to establish the new school in Amaravathi in such a short period of time.
Read more...
April 2 - Club Meeting
Today's meeting included a short "public service announcement" from Don Martin of Incarnation Lutheran Church.  Don leads their annual "Feed My Starving Children" mobile packing event which our club has helped support in the past.  He provided some great background information about this effort which has become very large scale, packing over a million meals over a couple day period.  We will again have a number of our members there on April 30th this year in lieu of a regular weekly meeting.  
 
We were also delighted to hear from one of our newest members, Stephanie Cosgrove.  Stephanie was born and raised in Iowa and became familiar with Rotary through her father, who was a long-time member there.  She learned the value of hard work early on - taking on jobs such as delivering papers, de-tassling corn, and babysitting throughout her youth.  After graduating from The University of Iowa with a degree in Journalism and Communication, she worked a series of jobs that included training roles at American Express, Toyota, and Deluxe.  The latter came after a move to the Twin Cities with her husband.  Her Deluxe experience led to a new role at Wells Fargo, focused on organizational development and change management work.  This work clearly inspires her and has led to becoming highly involved with a program known as Action Learning.  She is currently a board member for the World Institute of Action Learning.  Stephanie is currently a VP with Wells Fargo and travels frequently to other Wells Fargo Regional Hubs in San Francisco, Phoenix and elsewhere.  We are thrilled she has joined us and is already playing an active leadership role in our club!
Read more...
April 9 - Club Meeting
Our speaker today was Ed Marek who is Rotary District 5960 Governor Nominee.  He will step into that role for the 2020-2021 Rotary year.  Currently Ed heads the district committee on ethics and his presentation today focused on the importance and relevance of Rotary's 4-Way Test.  He pointed out that Rotary's 4-Way Test makes it the only major service club that is grounded on ethical principles.  Given the current climate of political divisiveness in our country, the district's ethics committee has looked for ways to build more focus and recognition about this unique aspect of Rotary.   Ed hails from the St. Paul Sunrise Club, and showed a video from one of their club meetings in which individual members spoke to how the 4-Way Test has helped them in their professional lives.  The video also went on to cover other ways in which clubs might work to bring focus to the 4-Way Test in their local communities.  Clubs in Northfield and Eagan have held ethics workshops for local high schools.  Other clubs have conducted school essay contests and anti-bullying videos.  These are all practical ideas that could have a great dual purpose - publicizing the good work of Rotary in a way which directly benefits the local community.
Read more...
April 16 - Club Meeting
Today we welcomed guest speaker Vinicius Taguchi from the University of Minnesota's chapter of Engineers Without Borders (EWB).  This was an impressive young man who is working on his PhD in Civil Engineering at the U of M.  He is also active in Twin Cities Rotaract, which is where John Suzukida met him when delivering a presentation at one of their meetings.  Taguchi's area of focus is in water resources research.  He talked with us today about EWB and their current projects in Ethiopia and Guatemala.  Both projects involve improving access to clean water.  Like Rotary, EWB's model for these types of projects requires active participation from the recipient community and support from a local NGO to ensure that there is community buy-in and ability to handle future maintenance.  Also, like Rotary, EWB chapters are governed by a larger organization when it comes to obtaining grant money to proceed with projects.  In the case of EWB, there is a national group that vets projects and NGOs and helps secure support from businesses and engineering firms.  EWB is modeled after Doctors Without Borders, but unlike DWB, does not go into war zones and therefore participants do not face quite as many risks in their work.  
 
Interestingly, Taguchi is also working with the City of Shoreview to help solve a problem that has been vexing the City for some time - the "greening" of the large pond on city property being caused by phosphates and other forms of run-off.  
Read more...
April 23 - Club Meeting
Today's meeting was an interesting off-site visit to the new Loden S.V. apartment complex in Shoreview.  Josh Brandsted from Greco Real Estate Development spoke with us about the history of the project.  Discussions began in September of 2017 as the city looked for a way to address the commercial building that had sat there unoccupied for 7 years after Deluxe Corporation had faced downsizing.  Greco had not done any business in the Shoreview/Arden Hills area before but was quickly taken with the opportunity, impressed by the plethora of local trails, parks and lakes, as well as the convenience of the location.  The first phase, which includes 200 units, opened in July 2018 and is currently 95% leased.  The second phase, which will be another 200 units, will be started in the fall.  We were all impressed with our tour of the facility and its many amenities.  Some were expected - large, lovely communal gathering areas, fitness area, screening room and underground parking.  Others were a surprise - a dog washing facility, a bike room which included space and tools for bike repair, a small dog park and a pickleball court!  The average age of occupants is 31 and 40% are pet owners.   65% of the units are studio/1 bedroom with the remainder being primarily 2 bedroom units.  Rents range from $1,200 to $2,200 plus utilities.  It appears this project is a huge success.  Terry Schwerm spoke highly of Greco as a business partner and the high occupancy rate speaks to the fact that Loden is delivering what folks are looking for these days.
Read more...